DeveloperSide.NET Forums
December 14, 2019, 03:55:06 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problem create new mysql user w/ php code  (Read 8418 times)
yfastud
Customer, Basic Support

View Profile
« on: January 29, 2007, 07:01:11 PM »

Hi,
I'm new to mysql and php and coding, so on and trying to create new mysql user w/ php code as below, but always got error message "Error, insert query failed". Please, point out what I did wrong and how to fix it. BTW, don't yell at me if this forums doesn't support coding, and yes, I do know that I can use phpmyadmin but just want to practice on coding.

<?php
$connect = mysql_pconnect('localhost', $AdminName, $AdminPass) or die('Error, login db failed');
mysql_select_db(mysql) or die('Error, open db failed');
$query = "INSERT INTO user(Host, User, Password) VALUES('localhost', '$UserName', '$UserPass')";
mysql_query($query) or die('Error, insert query failed');
$query = "FLUSH PRIVILEGES";
mysql_query($query) or die('Error, flush query failed');
?>

And even tried it w/ this code
$query = "INSERT INTO user(Host, User, Password, Select_priv, Insert_priv, Update_priv) VALUES ('localhost', $UserName, PASSWORD($UserPass), 'Y', 'Y', 'Y')";

Thanks a million
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2007, 07:20:17 PM »

I'll assume table 'user' is already created and has rows 'Host', 'User', and 'Password', otherwise this will not work...

"INSERT INTO `user` (`Host`, `User`, `Password`) VALUES ('localhost', '$UserName', '$UserPass')";

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2007, 07:22:55 PM »

I just noticed you are trying to use the 'mysql' db...