DeveloperSide.NET Forums
July 14, 2020, 10:32:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: "Client: Unable to Establish Connection to Server."?  (Read 27338 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
ajm113
Member
*
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« on: February 27, 2007, 03:34:34 AM »

I am wanting to go into my phpadmin so I can make a database but the one thing that is stoping me is when I try to enter a user and password it shows the error: "Client: Unable to Establish Connection to Server." So what mite be the couases? I searched the stickys but they where no help.... :(
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2007, 04:11:18 AM »

Have you verified that MySQL is running?
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
ajm113
Member
*
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2007, 06:06:51 PM »

yes mysql is running. Also when I start the server how do I know what address to use on another computer that has a internet connection? Sorry to get off topic but I wanted to ask becuase noone can enter it.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2007, 08:27:56 PM »

Are you using the default user 'root' and password 'rootwdp'?

From the command line, what does this display?
Code:
mysqladmin -u root -p status

To access the hosting system from another system, you would use the public IP address that you are assigned every time your system or router is started. You can find it somewhere under your router settings. Also, you will need to port forward port 80.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
ajm113
Member
*
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2007, 01:24:32 AM »

I dont have a router I am using a modem. So how do I know my public IP address on it? Not to forgot everything is left the way it was when it was installed so that mite not be the case but I did notice I hade to sign up a subdomain on here that mite fix it but it shows the same error still altho I have a subdomain already set up as http://ajm113.dynside.net/. So what am I missing? I am new to this server stuff and dont have much knowledge about it instead it can used for commonication and file transfering.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2007, 01:36:36 AM »

If you just have a modem, run cmd.exe, and type...
ipconfig /all

As long as the IP address does not start with 192, or 172, or 127, or 169, its probably the public address. Just note it probably changes once every while. It could be a few hours, a day, or a few hours.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
ajm113
Member
*
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2007, 02:03:44 AM »

mmmm I used Subnet Mask area but that does not work. It seems to be the only thing that was not in the area of what you said...
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2007, 02:42:49 AM »

What is the ip being displayed?

Also try login into your modem, search for modem type and "IP" on google.

dynside.net should also display your public IP.

You will need to configure WinXP native firewall to pass port 80.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
ajm113
Member
*
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2007, 02:49:54 AM »

My public IP is 70.176.210.173/
But it does not show up. Im thinking it mite be the firewall but how do I pass port 80?
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2007, 02:39:37 PM »

Control Panel, Windows Firewall -- Exceptions -> Add Program -> Browse -> C:\www\Apache22\bin\httpd.exe
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
rp_024
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 92


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2007, 05:46:59 PM »

Edit httpd.conf to listen on port 8000, 8080, 8010 etc. instead of port 80, whatever you choose. I use port 8080 myself because my ISP blocks port 80. Have had my site up for going on two years.
Logged
ajm113
Member
*
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2007, 12:58:27 AM »

I did the exeptions for it already after I installed it so it mite not be the firewall. I have no clue what it could be now.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2007, 01:00:32 AM »

Some modems have a built in firewall. If you can get the LAN IP of you modem, you can login via your browser.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
ajm113
Member
*
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2007, 02:01:22 AM »

No it has no Fire Wall I even called them and asked them myself and its all straight fowerd. I think it mite be something to do with the DNS service or something because if that does the domain stuff then its goto be it.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2007, 03:08:43 AM »

If you http:// your public IP, the site should show up. If it does not, the problem is not a DNS issue.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.9 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!