DeveloperSide.NET Forums
December 14, 2019, 04:49:05 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: New Installer  (Read 48158 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2007, 09:30:45 PM »

'Listen 80' mean listen on port 80, which is the "http" port, on all interfaces on the system [all IPs of the system].

"LAN -- modem/router -- WAN" is how it is. Everything is LAN on our side.

I would get rid of phpBB from the distro, and replace it with SMF if I could... SMF's license does not permit redistribution.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2007, 11:07:49 PM »

Quote
I would get rid of phpBB from the distro, and replace it with SMF if I could... SMF's license does not permit redistribution.

Can we download it from SMF ourselves and make it work with your distro?
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2007, 11:13:18 PM »

Yes. It will work just fine, I've had it running locally on the Suite, to test it out, before I switched our Forums from phpBB to SMF on our Linux Server.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: May 21, 2007, 01:22:44 AM »

Quote
In any case, with the default setup, to install a webapp, and allow access from outside...
1) Hit the specified URL, do the setup where you enter something like name of blog, email, etc... Everything else has been pre-configured.
2) Uncomment 'access from all', as we talked about earlier.

Nothing else is needed.

I don't want to keep having to come back to you with this, but I'm not getting it. I have stopped IIS, I can get the site to come up on localhost, I uncommented access to all, but I still can't get it over the internet. I'm sure it is something simple but I have no idea what it is. How do I get wordpress to come up as my domain on the internet?

I'm pretty sure the browser is hitting my server. The 404 error includes references to apache.

I ran -t again and there are no syntax errors but I did get a warning that "DocumentRoot [c:/www/webroot/wordpress] does not exist". The whole webroot vs webapps thing is a complete mystery to me.

Can you remote in and check my code? Should I paste my code here for you to look at? If so, which files? If not, I need instruction. Keep it simple, step by step, dummed down, assume I know nothing, because apparently I don't.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #19 on: May 21, 2007, 02:20:13 AM »

So you changed the DocumentRoot under httpd.conf? Because you want to see wordpress from domain/ and not domain/wordpress? What else have you changed?
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #20 on: May 21, 2007, 02:31:56 AM »

From the _default_ setup you would...
1) Move everything that is under \www\webapps\wordpress to \www\webroot
2) Edit wordpress.conf to...
Code:
<IfModule !mod_rewrite.c>
LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so
</IfModule>

AccessFileName .htaccess
<Files ~ "^\.htaccess$">
order allow,deny
deny from all
</Files>

<Directory "/www/webroot">
Options FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride FileInfo

order allow,deny
allow from all

AddType text/html .php
AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .php
</Directory>

3) Edit \www\webroot\.htaccess to...
Code:
# BEGIN WordPress
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule . /index.php [L]
</IfModule>

# END WordPress
« Last Edit: May 21, 2007, 02:34:53 AM by admin » Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: May 21, 2007, 03:10:21 AM »

So you changed the DocumentRoot under httpd.conf?

No. Here is what I assume to be the relevant portion of httpd.conf:

Quote
Listen 80

ServerRoot "/www/Apache22"
DocumentRoot "/www/webroot"

ServerName localhost:80
ServerAdmin admin@localhost

ErrorLog logs/error.log
LogLevel error

Quote
Because you want to see wordpress from domain/ and not domain/wordpress?
Yes.

Quote
What else have you changed?

This is httpd-vhosts.conf:

Quote
#
# Virtual Hosts
#
# If you want to maintain multiple domains/hostnames on your
# machine you can setup VirtualHost containers for them. Most configurations
# use only name-based virtual hosts so the server doesn't need to worry about
# IP addresses. This is indicated by the asterisks in the directives below.
#
# Please see the documentation at
# <URL:http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/vhosts/>
# for further details before you try to setup virtual hosts.
#
# You may use the command line option '-S' to verify your virtual host
# configuration.

# Use name-based virtual hosting.

NameVirtualHost *:80

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerAdmin admin@mydomain2.com
    DocumentRoot /www/webroot/wordpress
    ServerName mydomain1.com
    ServerAlias mydomain1.com *.mydomain1.com
    ErrorLog logs/mydomain1.com-error_log
    CustomLog logs/mydomain1.com-access_log common
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerName www.mydomain2.com
    DocumentRoot /www/webroot/joomla
    ServerName mydomain2.com
    ServerAlias mydomain2.com
    ErrorLog logs/mydomain2.com-error_log
    CustomLog logs/mydomain2.com-access_log common
</VirtualHost>
#
# VirtualHost example:
# Almost any Apache directive may go into a VirtualHost container.
# The first VirtualHost section is used for all requests that do not
# match a ServerName or ServerAlias in any <VirtualHost> block.
#
#<VirtualHost *:80>
#    ServerAdmin webmaster@dummy-host.example.com
#    DocumentRoot /www/webroot/dummy-host.example.com
#    ServerName dummy-host.example.com
#    ServerAlias www.dummy-host.example.com
#    ErrorLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-error_log
#    CustomLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-access_log common
#</VirtualHost>
#
#<VirtualHost *:80>
#    ServerAdmin webmaster@dummy-host2.example.com
#    DocumentRoot /www/webroot/dummy-host2.example.com
#    ServerName dummy-host2.example.com
#    ErrorLog logs/dummy-host2.example.com-error_log
#    CustomLog logs/dummy-host2.example.com-access_log common
#</VirtualHost>
[/quote]
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #22 on: May 21, 2007, 03:14:33 AM »

Add the modified wordpress.conf code into the VH block.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #23 on: May 21, 2007, 04:08:03 AM »

Quote
From the _default_ setup you would...
1) Move everything that is under \www\webapps\wordpress to \www\webroot
2) Edit wordpress.conf to...
3) Edit \www\webroot\.htaccess to...

I'm just a guy with an idea for a website. I didn't go to school for any of this. If I could have found a hosting service that didn't have so damn many rules and restrictions, I wouldn't be trying to do all this tech stuff myself, I'd just be posting content. But I'm here now, I own the server, so since I'm doing it I really want to understand as much as I can. So, how would I have known to make all these changes? Is it in a book or website somewhere? Because I looked all over your notes, wordpress.org, and googled the hell out of it and got nowhere.

Quote
Add the modified wordpress.conf code into the VH block.

I've made the changes, restarted apache, and from outside, Firefox is unable to connect as it did a few minutes ago. I went back to the server and got the message "windows is not able to start apache". I then went to the event viewer and found:
Event Type:   Error
Event Source:   Apache Service
Event Category:   None
Event ID:   3299
Date:      5/20/2007
Time:      10:29:23 PM
Description:
The Apache service named  reported the following error:
>>> Warning: DocumentRoot [C:/www/webroot/joomla] does not exist     .

fyi, joomla is supposed to be mydomain2, which is why I was trying to use virtualhost. I have not tried to install joomla because I wanted to get wordpress right first.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #24 on: May 21, 2007, 05:33:20 AM »

Quote
Warning: DocumentRoot [C:/www/webroot/joomla] does not exist

Chances are, as per the message, you have not created that directory... C:/www/webroot/joomla... Create it and restart Apache. Specified VH DocumentRoots have to exist.

As far as knowing how to do this and that, well, it all comes down to experience. Mine is from starting this project back in 2003, working on it, getting my hands dirty, persisting in solving problems, providing user support, etc...

There are a few books and a few good sites, but if you ask me, just work on it, start of simple, and read the Apache Manual.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #25 on: May 21, 2007, 03:49:54 PM »

ok, so I'm getting my hands dirty ;-). In order to create the joomla document root, I moved the /webappps/joomla folder to /webroot/joomla, at which time I got an 0x1 error and apache would not start. So I assume that means either I need to empty the joomla folder contents into webroot as I did with wordpress, or I need a file (rather than a folder) in /webroot that acts as a documentroot and tells the server where to go to get the rest of the joomla stuff, which is mydomain2. Is this right? Do I also need to alter .htaccess? Thx.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #26 on: May 21, 2007, 04:33:36 PM »

All I wanted you to do was create an empty directory named 'joomla', nothing more... So we could get past the error and establish wp is working like you want it too.

I would undo any damage done so far [just start over] and keep it this way...

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerAdmin admin@mydomain2.com
    DocumentRoot /www/webroot/wordpress
    ServerName mydomain1.com
    ServerAlias www.mydomain1.com
    ErrorLog logs/mydomain1.com-error_log
    CustomLog logs/mydomain1.com-access_log common
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerName www.mydomain2.com
    DocumentRoot /www/webroot/joomla
    ServerName mydomain2.com
    ServerAlias www.mydomain2.com
    ErrorLog logs/mydomain2.com-error_log
    CustomLog logs/mydomain2.com-access_log common
</VirtualHost>

Edit wordpress.conf and joomla.conf...
Remove the alias lines.
Update 'allow from all'.

Update wp's .htaccess file as above.

What you are doing will not work.

You might, or might not, also need put dir permissions under each VH block -- but that really should have already been taken care of by wordpress.conf, etc...

Just start out doing one thing, and check Apache's error.log when you get an error.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #27 on: May 22, 2007, 03:51:04 PM »

My mistake... The above VH blocks should have docroots of /www/webapps/wordpress, /www/webapps/joomla, etc... if done my way.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: May 22, 2007, 04:56:59 PM »

Ok, thx, I will incorporate first chance I get. I undid everything else as you suggested. Apache starts and webdeveloper comes up in localhost again, but the sites did not come up from outside nor did it appear I was even hitting the server, but as I said, I will look into it more first chance I get (work gets in the way) and let you know how it goes.
Logged
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #29 on: May 29, 2007, 03:21:27 AM »

I have these identified issues at the moment:

1. I followed your earlier suggestions and now I get wordpress as the default for mydomain1. Thank you. However, it is just plain html. I get none of the formatting/css or whatever that I see from localhost/wordpress. I checked the source code and the links are all to localhost/wordpress, therefore, from the internet, none of the links are reachable. However, the default blogroll has full links and bring up those other blogs. Surely I don't have to go thru every line of code to fix this?

2. If I type in mydomain1.com/joomla, joomla comes up. This is NOT what I want. Joomla is supposed to be mydomain2.com - only, and the homepage thereof. Similarly, if I type in mydomain2.com, I get the mydomain1.com homepage, i.e., wordpress.

3. I configured vhosts.conf as I had before, and as before both domains went to the same default " index of / " page. Then I made the changes so that wordpress became the homepage of mydomain1, but vhosts is obviously not working because in addition to #2 above, I did not get back to change DocumentRoot from /www/webapps/wordpress and yet wordpress does come up now.

Please advise.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.9 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!