DeveloperSide.NET Forums
December 13, 2019, 12:04:05 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
Author Topic: New Installer  (Read 48105 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #30 on: May 29, 2007, 04:00:29 AM »

p.s.

I read on wordpress.org that I should move the wordpress files to the right directory before installing, but since webdeveloper is set to localhost, is that going to solve my problem? Can I just uninstall wordpress and start that over without uninstalling the whole suite?

I forgot to mention that in addition to the issues outlined in my last post, I can't access siteadmin from wordpress. I'm guessing that's the same issue - i.e., by default it is set to look on localhost not /. Is this right?

thx
Logged
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #31 on: May 29, 2007, 11:32:20 AM »

p. s. s.

What did you envision being put in the root directory to be served out to the internet by your users? Because I would think most users would want one of the webapps to be the default just like I do, and if you have to move the app out of /www/webapps/whatever then your whole security rationale for putting the apps there in the first place is shot, right? So, how did you envision this working on a real public site? That would help me understand the system and it's setup. Thx.
Logged
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #32 on: May 30, 2007, 11:46:13 AM »

It's been more than 24 hours and I have not heard from you? What's up? If I can't get this thing off localhost, or get vhost to work, I can't use this thing. This is why I was asking for step by step instructions. You are reaching beyond other computer types to ordinary folks who don't know their way around as easily. Please respond. Thx.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #33 on: May 30, 2007, 02:34:28 PM »

There are many ways you can do this... This is the simplest... This is how it would work from the default, untouched, setup...

Edit \www\Apache22\conf\Suite-extra\components.conf

Comment out lines...
Include conf/Suite-extra/webapps/drupal.conf
Include conf/Suite-extra/webapps/wordpress.conf

Edit \www\Apache22\conf\httpd.conf

Uncomment line...
#Include conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf

Edit \www\Apache22\conf\extra\httpd-vhosts.conf

Add...

<VirtualHost *:80>
   ServerName domain1.com
   ServerAlias www.domain1.com
   DocumentRoot /www/webapps/drupal
   ErrorLog logs/domain1-error.log
   CustomLog logs/domain1-access.log common

   <Directory "/www/webapps/drupal">
      Options FollowSymLinks
      AllowOverride All
      order allow,deny
      allow from all

      AddType text/html .php .phps
      AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .php
      AddHandler application/x-httpd-php-source .phps

   </Directory>
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
   ServerName domain2.com
   ServerAlias www.domain2.com
   DocumentRoot /www/webapps/wordpress
   ErrorLog logs/domain2-error.log
   CustomLog logs/domain2-access.log common

   <Directory "/www/webapps/wordpress">
      Options FollowSymLinks
      AllowOverride All
      order allow,deny
      allow from all

      AddType text/html .php .phps
      AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .php
      AddHandler application/x-httpd-php-source .phps

   </Directory>
</VirtualHost>

Edit \www\webapps\drupal\.htaccess and comment out line...
RewriteBase /drupal

Edit \www\webapps\wordpress\.htaccess

Comment out line...
RewriteBase /wordpress/

Edit line...
RewriteRule . /wordpress/index.php [L]
to...
RewriteRule . /index.php [L]

I've done this on my local install and it works, loading drupal on domain1.com and wordpress on domain2.com.

Since you are not using localhost anymore, when you hit the setup/install scripts of the webapps, do not install to "localhost", but to the actual domains -- or the css is going to come out all wrong on the screen.

As a note: without further configuration http://localhost will also now be the 1st VH that Apache finds [domain1], and not \www\webroot
« Last Edit: May 30, 2007, 06:19:15 PM by admin » Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #34 on: May 30, 2007, 02:45:58 PM »

Quote
What did you envision being put in the root directory to be served out to the internet by your users? Because I would think most users would want one of the webapps to be the default just like I do, and if you have to move the app out of /www/webapps/whatever then your whole security rationale for putting the apps there in the first place is shot, right? So, how did you envision this working on a real public site? That would help me understand the system and it's setup. Thx.

I could have put 1 of the webapps under webroot, and it would have turned into 'localhost', which defeats the base setup and the easy ability to test things out: thrown some html or php here and see what happens.

I do understand what you are saying about most users want one of the webapps set up to localhost by default, probably wordpress as blogs are now everywhere.

As far as the security goes, its not the difference between "not-secure" and "secure", but more like the difference between "secure" and "a-little-more-secure-and-cleaner". And you do not have to move any webapps into webroot as long as you either use VHs [as above] or Aliases [as under Suite-extra\webapps\*.conf]

Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #35 on: May 30, 2007, 05:22:04 PM »

Ok, thx. I will report back as soon as I am able.
Logged
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #36 on: June 05, 2007, 07:17:08 PM »

Quote
Edit \www\webapps\drupal\.htaccess and comment out line...
RewriteBase /drupal

I am actually using joomla, not drupal, for this site, but I figured it didn't make any difference until I got to this point, because it says RewriteBase / without the joomla. Should I still uncomment or leave it alone?
Logged
admin
Administrator
Master of All Subjects
*****
Posts: 3272


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #37 on: June 05, 2007, 08:01:36 PM »

In this case, it should not make any difference either way since joomla is a / of a vh.
Logged

DeveloperSide.NET
Advanced PHP and MySQL Solutions for your Web Design and Development needs with Web.Developer Server Suite.
natcolley
Customer, Basic Support
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #38 on: June 08, 2007, 01:20:27 PM »

Ok, my domains are up and running. Thank you. I've gone back to revive my old post under "configuration" in 'anything else goes here'.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.9 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!