DeveloperSide.NET Forums
September 18, 2019, 05:01:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A few RHEL working issues  (Read 12021 times)
Dan

View Profile
« on: June 19, 2004, 08:35:09 PM »

First off I really appreciate this site and forum as it answered a lot of my questions in a straight kind of way...Thanks.

I'm fairly new to Linux and have read a lot since starting with Linux. But sometimes there is nothing better than someone that can explain some problems like you do here. Google has helped tremendously too...I think that was how I found this site...don't recall after all the reading I've done in the last few days. Here goes:

I have a plain RHEL server and I need https support. I have upgraded numerous things on the server (many from your lists here), including Apache2. In the process I shut down the Apache server that comes with RHEL and built my own Apache2 in this dir /usr/local/Apache2/bin. After goofing things up a few times I found your checklist and now I have plenty of vhosts in the httpd.conf working fine. My next step is to get https support working, but have a few questions about a few other things first:

---------------------------------
When I noticed your Apache checklist said it required Perl I figured I'd check to see if there was a newer version out there. I was running perl v5.8.0 and actually am still for some reason. Here's what I did:

]# perl -v
running perl v5.8.0
]# wget http://www.perl.com/CPAN/src/stable.tar.gz
]# tar xvzf stable.tar.gz perl
]# cd perl-5.8.4
]# rm -f config.sh Policy.sh
]# sh Configure -de
]# make
]# make test
]# make install
]# perl -v
still running perl v5.8.0

tried this above but this time with
]# sh Configure -de -Dinstallprefix=/usr/lib/perl5/
and with
]# Configure -Dotherlibdirs=/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.1
but still have the old Perl running from this dir